RV Rauxel and Dukla Prague wins ROWING Champions League 2015


RV Rauxel wins the women’s final and Dukla Prague wins the men’s final for the ROWING Champions League 2015 which took place on the Spree right in front of the Mercedes-Benz-Arena. The women’s eight from RV Rauxel, which is the champion of the league, had to battle Crefeld RC, the winner of last year’s ROWING Champions League. The RV Rauxel was able to show their strength and won the race in a time of 1:02.40 minutes. The Crefelder RC won silver in a time of 1:04.72 minutes. Bronze went to the Melitta Minden eight, which crossed the finish line a heartbeat before the boat from Slavia Prague.  A total of 9 european women’s eights qualified for world premie of the prestigious league of rowing.

The men’s final races started dramatically. The FRG Germania eight stop rowing too early at the semifinals due to a misunderstanding in the boat. Thus Dukla Prague qualified for the final. The eight from Berlin with Olympic Champion Andreas Kuffner won the second semifinal and made it to the finals. Dukla Prague won the final with a paper-thin lead of 3 hundreds of a second in 0:51,39 minutes. The everlasting sprint duel between FRG Germania and Crefelder RC was won by the FRG Germany by 28 hundreds of a second which made them finish 3rd overall. The best clubs and universities competed against each other at the german capitol in front of the Oberbaum bridge two weeks after the rowing world championships.

The East Side Gallery and the Mercedes Benz Arena were the perfect frame for the novel event over 350 meters.  Thousands of spectators were able to watch the races and were also able to get to know the sport of rowing from a different kind of view. The event was broadcasted „live“ through the internet and will be part oft he ZDF „Sportreportage“.

President Gerhard Meuer was thrilled: „ The sport was highly attracted. The pictures from the drone and the onboard-system, which shows the excitement from inside the boat, is the way to go.“ The best club and university teams with boats from 9 different countries had to qualify through a quota system in advance.